43: Armagh, Down and Antrim 44: Londonderry, Tyrone and Fermanagh 45: Donegal to Sligo 46: North Mayo 47: Connemara to South Mayo 48: Clare, Limerick and Cork 49: Dingle Peninsula 50: Iveragh Peninsula 51: Beara Peninsula to Clear Island 52: Kenmare to Macroom 53: Tipperary 54: Waterford, Kilkenny and Carlow 55: Wicklow 56: Central Lowlands
Click on the regions on the map to zoom in and locate the mountains.
The regions, with their names and numbering are taken from
The Hewitts and Marilyns of Ireland by E D "Clem" Clements.

The Myrddyn Deweys

The Myrddyn Deweys are hills in Ireland with a height between 500-609m and a prominence of 30m.  The list was researched by Michael Dewey and Myrddyn Phillips and was made freely available to the Mountaineering Council of Ireland in 2000.  In 2011 the data was re-examined against the latest mapping.

A Submyrddyn Dewey is a hill which just fails (by up to 10m) to qualify on either the height or difference rule.

(Myrddyn Deweys appear as Class=MDew on this website, and Submyrddyn Deweys as Class=sMDew).

The hills between 400 and 499m with 30m drop are also included on this site, and appear as class=4.  The hills between 490 and 499m with 20-29m drop are also included as class=s4.

My Progress

I have completed 0 (0%) of 200 Myrddyn Deweys [Map*].

(* please note that the maps may be slow to load)

League Table - compare your progress with other members of this site.


My thanks to Michael Dewey, Myrddyn Phillips and Jim Bloomer for their painstaking research, and making their data available to this website.  The subMyrddyn Dewey data was sourced from The Cuigs listing by John Forsythe and Myrddyn Phillips.