Catchment Areas

The hills of the the British Mainland can be allocated to 190 rainfall catchment areas.  The catchments listed are limited to those that reach the tide line and appear in clockwise order starting in Caithness.  Man-made changes for land drainage, hydro electric & fishing are excluded.  In Scotland particularly, sea lochs & bays are used to give catchment names that are meaningful to baggers.  Hill summits within each catchment are augmented by those that lie just outside it, within 100 metres of the catchment boundary.  Many hills appear in 2 catchments and 53 appear in 3.  They are identified in an additional category called "Triples".

Use the Mountain Search page to view maps and lists of hills by catchment.

Catchment area Tump league tables can be viewed via the Tumps by Catchment page.