Historic County Tops

Historic County Tops

The website lists the traditional historic counties and their highest points above sea level.  These are the counties from which people generally take their local cultural identity.

The Isle of Man is a self-governing British Crown Dependency rather than a county, but has been included in the list.

Though the traditional historic counties and their boundaries still exist, local government administrative changes have been largely adopted by map-makers and in road-signage, giving us new administrative "counties".

All these changes to administrative areas make the historic County Tops a more satisfactory list for bagging, as they are unchangeable.  However, this website does include pages for the Administrative (1974) County Tops, and for the current County and Unitary Authority Tops.

Click here for more detailed information on county history.

Use the Mountain Search page to view the map and list of Historic County Tops.

(Historic County Tops appear as Class=CoH on this website)

My Progress
I have completed...
0 (0%) of 31 Scottish County Tops
0 (0%) of 49 English County Tops
0 (0%) of 13 Welsh County Tops
0 (0%) of 1 Manx island Top

0 (0%) of 27 Irish County Tops

League Table - compare your progress with other members of this site.